Cities on the Frontline Speaker Series

Cities on the Frontline is a weekly speaker series co-organized by the Resilient Cities Network and The World Bank Group’s City Resilience Program from March 2020.

The purpose of the series is to share knowledge to help cities respond to the pandemic crisis and to plan towards recovery with resilience. It is a platform for open and honest learning conversations between practitioners in cities and governments, and partners supporting them. Each week, the series brings together different experts and city practitioners to discuss specific topics and share tangible examples. Over 5,500 participants from around the world have attended the series, with a significant portion of the attendees being from city governments.

Share

Upcoming Sessions:

  • #29 – Funding and Financing Recovery – Thursday, 22 October 2020 – 09.00 AM EST/02.00 PM BST/09.00 PM SGT – REGISTER HERE
  • #30 – Resilient Leadership – Thursday, 12 November 2020 – 08.00 AM EST/01.00 PM BST/09.00 PM SGT – REGISTER HERE
  • #31 – Climate Change Governance – Thursday, 26 November 2020 – 08.00 AM EST/01.00 PM BST/09.00 PM SGT – REGISTER HERE
  • #32 – What Have We Learned? – Thursday, 10 December 2020 – 08.00 AM EST/01.00 PM BST/09.00 PM SGT – REGISTER HERE

Previous Sessions:

28 – Risk and Crisis Communication

Covid-19 have been transitioning from a public health shock in early 2020 to a longer-term global stress and transforming urban life. While some cities appear to be recovering, other places continue to experience a rise in COVID-19 and public communication appears to be at the center of all the response.
Read More

27 – Predicting and Monitoring Hotspots

In regions such as Africa, South Asia, and Central America, the pandemic has yet to peak. Cities should anticipate for emerging hotspots, especially that affect poor and vulnerable communities. Understanding hotspots is critical, so that medical support and resources can be targeted to limit diffusion into surrounding areas.
Read More

26 – Aging Cities

A rapidly aging population goes along with its own economic and social challenges and cities will need to adapt. Were cities built with the elderly population in mind? Are cities prepared to address this demographic shift?
Read More

25 – Urban Density

Does urban density matter in the context of Covid-19? The session highlights the importance to understand between well-managed “good density”, seen for example in Singapore and “bad density”, such as the crowded slums in many developing countries.
Read More

24 – Healthy Cities

Cities must think about their health in a holistic way; this means keeping residents physically and mentally healthy while supplying access to healthcare, a health-supportive environment, and other resources necessary for a high quality of life.
Read More

22 – Safer Schools

Schools need to be the safest, most inclusive, and most comfortable environments of any part of urban life; without a secure and relaxing place to learn and to play, children are unable to develop to their full potential.
Read More

21 – Digital Technology: Underpinning Recovery

The importance of digital technology has been exacerbated by the COVID-19 crisis where digital technology has been at the center of response and recovery such as with contact tracing, contactlesss subsidy support and risk communication.
Read More

20 – Water and Sanitation: WASH in Crisis and Recovery

In a world facing climate change and a global health crisis, clean water, safe sanitation, and improved hygiene has never been more important. Cities and their service providers face enormous challenges, such as aging infrastructure, high levels of non-revenue water, and poor water quality.
Read More
1 2 3 4

Partners

Cities on the Frontline Speaker Series